top of page

Sand Soaps from Christal Clear Soaps

Updated: Dec 13, 2021


Each beach has unique sand, similar to the way we all have fingerprints that help make us individuals. As a gardener, I have always loved soils, rocks and sand. Collecting sand from beaches is one of my favorite things to do while on vacation. Sand may not be the first thing you think of when it comes to artisan cold process soap, but it sure is a treasured ingredient in my soap shop! Using what nature provides by letting the beauty of each ingredient shine on its own, sand is a beautiful example of nature's best. I love throwing in a bar of sand soap in my beach bag to wash off in the water, it is inevitable that something gross or icky is going to get on someone. All-natural, fragrance-free products are always a great option while camping and for outdoor adventures.


(Montana pink sand Christal Clear Soaps)




Either I collect the sands myself, or I have my amazing friends and family bring it back from their vacations and trips. It is such a beautiful gift to receive sands from all over the world. Some sands are from places I will probably never get to visit in person, and just holding a bag of sand can transport you to a sandy beach in a tropical setting. Jamaica, Mexico, Hawaii, Montana, Washington, and Oregon are just a few of my personal favorite sands in my soap collection. Sometimes I only have a small amount from a particular beach, so each bar is a little more special because it can only be produced into a few bars of soap. My favorite sand hauls of my own have been from the Washington Coast with my husband on our anniversary vacation, we collected five-gallon bags of grey soft sand, and with my best friend on a girl's vacation to Montana to visit our friend where we collected another five gallons of pink sand!



(Purple starfish in a tidepool on the Washington coast)




(Orange starfish)


The beautiful colors I have been able to work with have ranged from a beautiful white from crushed shells to black volcanic beaches of Hawaii, deep dark brick red soils of the Moab desert of Utah, gentle pink shores of Montana’s hidden beaches, light tans, and greys of Oregon, to the deep rich grey sand of the Washington coast. When nature does all the hard work of grinding down the rocks and shells over time to create these natural wonders I do not feel the need to add in other colorants or micas. Letting each bar be a symbol of the special sand that these were gathered from with loving hands. Being able to share my personal favorite places with all of you is an amazing experience, for maybe you have never been able to travel to these places yet.

(Washington coast sand Christal Clear Soaps)




Walking barefoot is something we all like to do when we go to the beach, but some beaches are not as accommodating as others for our feet. I am always on the lookout for soft luxurious sand on my outings. Sifting out debris and larger items is part of my process before being added to the soap batter, this allows me to control how fine or gritty the final product will be. Some sands are more abrasive than others, and it is interesting to see what beaches have the most beautifully polished shells and rocks when you take a closer look. Controlling the amount of sand being added also helps me control how abrasive the soaps are going to be. Using a bar of sand soaps after gardening or working with your hands to scrub off the grime and dirt naturally is a great experience. If you need a bit of extra scrub, these bars are my go-to. Men love a soap with a good scrub too! They are great on your feet, and to use before shaving.


(Washington and Montana sand Christal Clear Soaps)




Do you have sand just sitting at home that you have collected on one of your favorite vacations? Let me make you a custom batch of soap just for you, to transport you back to your favorite beaches, wedding anniversaries, and most special memories. Most of the time we go to the beach with family and good friends, we are creating memories that last a lifetime. It doesn't matter how close to home you are or how far you traveled to, spending a day at the beach can be one of the most relaxing and fun-filled times. Next time you are packing your beach bag, remember to throw in a bag to collect some sand for your very own sand soaps. While on vacation shopping for souvenirs is usually done last minute, and often leads to impulsive purchases, having a custom artisan soap crafted just for you to give out after you come home is a unique and special treasure. Let us help make gift giving a little more personal, with a piece of your vacation with functional art. Finding gifts for bridal and baby showers does not have to be a daunting task, let me make your day a bit more memorable with soaps just for your special day!





(Moab desert sand Christal Clear Soaps)


Christal Clear Soaps Ingredients: Coconut oil, Olive oil, Palm oil, Water, Lye

All Natural * Fragrance-Free, Custom orders available


*Check out my soaps on social media and read my weekly blog for self-care tips and tricks.




*Leaving reviews and liking my posts and items helps to grow my business, gives more people the ability to see my products. Each like, share, and review is greatly appreciated!

Posting photos of your soaps and tagging them with my hashtags below is a great way to help any and all small businesses grow naturally.



*Thank you to every one of you for supporting me and my dreams of being an artisan soap crafter. Every order is important to me! I appreciate each and everyone who has bought my soaps along the way, either from Etsy, local art shows, local vendor malls, flower shops, and from me.


* All soaps are made by my own two hands, cut, stamped, cured, packaged with hand stamped logos by myself.


* Each and every bar is a unique piece of functional art and may look just a bit different than the pictured photos. My soaps are all formulated to be used and are not just for display. Colors are all-natural and some get darker or lighter over time. Stamp imprints may be deeper or shallower due to the hardness of each individual bar.

Here is a list of my completed blogs! Learn a bit about Cold Process Soap and Christal Clear Soaps, and how I got started making all-natural fragrance-free soap.



5) Sand

6) Indigo

7 Rose & wildflower

8) holiday gifts

9) In the garden

10) What’s in my bag

11) Fall is here

12) Essential oils

13) Clays

14) Favorite self-care tips

15) Spices are not just for cooking

16) What I am thankful for

17) New in the shop/stocking up with Christal Clear Soaps

18) An accomplishment I am proud of

19) Houseguests

20) Selfcare during the holidays

https://christalsglass.wixsite.com/christalclearsoaps/post/self-care-during-the-holidays














bottom of page