top of page

Face masks with Christal Clear Soaps


(My favorite masks made by two of my favorite Chefs, and great friends of ours.)


The last few years have given a whole new meaning to face masks. These days everyone has a mask on walking around in public. Covering our faces for long periods can lead to unwanted breakouts and friction. It helps to keep cloth masks washed with a natural soap, and frequently change them out to clean new masks. I never thought that I would have a favorite daily face mask, but the handmade ones given to me by a few good friends have quickly become the ones that I reach for. You probably have one of your own that is your go-to mask.


(Green Mask on my face)



Face masks and mud masks are a great way to detoxify the skin in a short period. These are versatile and can be used as a spot treatment, mud mask, and even to wash your face gently. Some of my favorite items to add to a homemade face mask are diatomaceous earth, muds, clays, liquid oils, vegetable glycerine, honey, yogurt, activated bamboo charcoal, fruits like avocados or mangos are a perfect way to add moisture and vitamins to anything you use. You can use just about anything from your pantry or fridge, and recipes are online for inspiration. Not all clays can be used with metal so my preference when working with items like these are to use glass and wooden utensils, and a silicone scraper if needed.


(All natural ingredients used in Christal Clear Soaps)

Using clays, and charcoal used as a daily face wash help to clear your skin naturally and soothe your skin at the same time. The creamy feeling on your skin makes it feel like it is forming a lather, and leaves your skin feeling a bit less stripped than even the mildest of soaps. It is always a good idea to use a form of moisturizer after using powdered ingredients because of their ability to pull impurities and oils from your skin. The longer you keep drying items like this on your skin the more you will be wanting moisturizer after.



Vegetable glycerine and distilled water make a simple spritz that is full of moisture. I love keeping a little bottle of this magic mist around for dry skin to soak up any time of the year and soothe irritated skin. Some masks are more drying than others and this ravishing mixture can help relieve that super tight feeling on your skin. I carry a little bottle of this in my purse, and my beach bag in the summer. This calming mixture is amazing on burns, as it soothes and moisturizes while easing the crunchy tight feeling at the same time. This ingredient is something I love just as much as fractionated coconut oil! Applying a few sprays of liquid coconut oil helps to seal the glycerin and water deeper into your skin. This also helps it last a bit longer providing a bit of extra protection barrier from harsh weather.



It does not matter what age you are adding face masks to your monthly beauty regimen can provide natural benefits of minerals on your skin. Each ingredient has its unique makeup, providing its color and texture adding vitamins and minerals for our skin to absorb. Mixing in oats and rice that you grind are great ways to add exfoliation to your face masks. If I am looking for extra scrubbing in specific areas, ground apricot kernels are my go-to ingredient. Adding sugars and even a bit of salt to your face masks helps to gently wash away any of the masks that have been dried on.



(Self-Care with Christal Clear Soaps)

Face masks are a fantastic item to add to your routine, for they can be worn while doing other daily chores. If you are wanting to give yourself a little self-care while doing some chores, mix yourself up a mask and apply it, then do some chores as usual. Leave it on as long as you want, when you rinse it off your face will feel great from a little extra attention. The mixture can be applied to the neck and decollete if you end up making a bit extra, and can also be used any place on your body that may need some extra love. Some masks are also great to use in your hair or as a bath soak and can be beneficial for all of your skin. Natural ingredients are so versatile and can be altered to fit many different needs easily, by adding a bit of extra liquid like rose water to thin a product out, to apply it to a larger area.


(Whidbey Island Mud for Christal Clear Soaps)

Do you have a favorite clay or mud that you use on your face? I would love to hear your favorite face masks! Sharing can be a fun way to learn new things and find new and interesting ingredients. If you have any unusual face mask ingredients or recipes I would love to hear about them. Please feel free to leave comments or recipes below!



*Check out my soaps on social media and read my weekly blog for self-care tips and tricks.



*Leaving reviews and liking my posts and items helps to grow my business, gives more people the ability to see my products. Each like, share, and review is greatly appreciated!

Posting photos of your soaps and tagging them with my hashtags below is a great way to help every small business grow naturally.


(Magic Moon Water Christal Clear Soaps)


*Thank you to every one of you for supporting me and my dreams of being an artisan soap crafter. Every order is important to me! I appreciate each and everyone who has bought my soaps along the way, either from Etsy, local art shows, local vendor malls, flower shops, and from me.


* All soaps are made by my own two hands, cut, stamped, cured, packaged with hand stamped logos by myself.


* Every bar is a unique piece of functional art and may look just a bit different than the pictured photos. My soaps are all formulated to be used and are not just for display. Colors are all-natural and some get darker or lighter over time. Stamp imprints may be deeper or shallower due to the hardness of each bar.


*Packages are shipped out every two to three days and have a tracking number to follow, from the local post office. Holidays may cause the package to arrive a bit after the set delivery date due to unforeseen weather or holidays. *Please remember to be kind to those delivering packages, during this global pandemic many businesses have been affected and have been running with fewer employees, and more rules and regulations. We are all doing the best we can to keep up!


*No refunds and or exchanges due to the soap being a self-care item and are intended to be used on your person. My customers are important to me and I would like to be able to have the chance to make up for any soaps that may have been damaged or lost in the delivery process. Thank you for understanding.


(Annatto seed Christal Clear Soaps)

Here is a list of my completed blogs! Learn a bit about Cold Process Soap and Christal Clear Soaps, and how I got started making all-natural fragrance-free soap.

5) Sand

6) Indigo

7 Rose & wildflower

8) holiday gifts

9) In the garden

10) What’s in my bag

11) Fall is here

12) Essential oils

13) Clays

14) Favorite self-care tips


(Eucalyptus Christal Clear Soaps)


bottom of page